Implied And Real Triangles

With this exercise we are to look at creating two sets of images one set with real triangles and then another set with implied triangles.
With the real triangles we have to find a subject that itself is triangular then to make a perspective triangle converging to the top of the frame, then a harder one as above a perspective triangle but converging to the bottom of the frame, so taking a picture of a building and turning it upside down would not work.
Then the second set of images were implied triangles. So again as above three images, one a still life arrangement with the apex of the triangle at the top, then the same again but with the apex of the triangle at the bottom, then it is to arrange a group of people in such a way that their faces or the lines of their bodies make a triangle.

Real triangle 1 I found this one at a kids play park, so we have apex at the top but also the reason I went for this image was it was not just the one triangle within the image it was the fact there were 5 just in plain view.

Real triangle 2 converging to the top of the frame, when I looked at this I thought that you could do it with any building but I found that if the building had an apex roof to it then the image would not work correctly because the apex would straighten up an edge.

real triangle 3 a perspective image with the apex to the bottom of the frame. This image I found walking around thinking about how I could do a perspective image of a triangle with the apex at the bottom of the frame, this is a corner of an old barn wall and I chose to use this image because it was not a strong line of the brick to give the lines of the triangle but the broken up cement covering the bricks. This I feel helped to make the image work.

This is my first implied triangle in still life that I have purposely done, I spent twenty minutes stacking the rocks trying to get it so the big one was on top, the slightest knock to the table would send them rolling, so I was glad when I got these images of them. So that is one implied triangle with the apex at the top.

Second implied triangle with apex at the bottom was a little harder as I was not sure how I could do it the I saw some flowers and went off to play. After getting the flowers to stay as I wanted them to be I got my image but after looking at it more I feel that if I had more flowers I could have kept the yellow roses as they are and added in lots more different flowers so as to add some contrast of colours to it but still leaving the triangle there.

Implied image three an image made by arranging people into a triangular shape with either faces or the lines of the body, as you can see I went for the faces of my kids. I had several ideas to how I wanted to place them one as above then there was height order with tallest in the middle, I also thought about having heads to feet so it would have given faces and body lines.

Leave a comment