Implied Lines

This exercise is about using implied lines these are lines used within the image to draw your attention to a point within the image. These lines are an eye–line, an extension of a line or lines that point.

To start off we look at the 2 images that are in the book and try to find the implied lines within the images

With the first image in the book I find that there is a curved line that curls in towards the Matador and the bull which draws me in so it is a line that points for me in this image. With the second image by Gotthard Schuh, “Threshing corn.” I see this to be an implied line of an eye-line where the horses are watching the handler.

Now we have to do the same thing with 3 of our own images.

With the above image of a wedding group outside a church waiting for the bride you can see that they are all looking at 1 thing at first you may think that it is the man walking in to the image but if you look closer you see that they are all looking at the little girl hiding behind the bridesmaid. So this brings this image to be an eye-line implied image.

With this image I did go for an eye-lined implied image and I feel that it is clear to see what the centre of attention is. With this little girl dressing up in a princess wedding dress that her nanny had made her and everyone asking her if she would like to have her picture taken in it which she did in the end.

Now with the 3rd image I decided that I would do another image using the implied eye-line with this one I went with a falconer and his hawk.

 

So here it is the eye-line to the hawk.

So now I want to have an image that shows implied lines that point.

 

I took a whole sequence of images to get this 1 but it was worth it. So here I have made it so that my 5 smoke lines are pointing their way to their planes. Like an image in the book that shows a runner but being pointed too by a diagonal line of steps.

Leave a comment