Judging colour temperature 1

This is a nice little exercise to start us off into the world of colour temperature. I have taken 3 images of my son at 2 different times but in 3 positions, 1 is in lovely sunlight with the sun at its highest in the sky, the second about 10 minutes later but this time in the shade of some trees, the third image was taken a bit later on as the sun was setting. All of these images were taken with the white balance set to daylight/sunlight setting.

Image 1 was set as I had said out in the open with the sun at its highest position and here is the image I got from it.

SONY DSC

So as we can see the image is nice and bright as you can tell from my son the sun was very bright, the colours are looking fab and the clouds are a nice colour too.

I then got my boy to walk over and into the shade so instead of changing the white balance to shade I kept it on daylight and this is the image that came from it.

SONY DSC

So the image has gone darker than what I thought it was there is also a blue shade in the skin colour and an overcast off the greens showing on the skin.

Now image 3 this was taken as the sun was setting and all the white balance settings still set to daylight and not sunset and it was a really nice sunset to enjoy watching it disappear.

SONY DSC

This is the third image and as you can see there is a real nice warm glow in the image.  The skin tone has an orange glow to it which I feel  adds a great feeling to it.

Leave a comment