Rhythms and Patterns

This exercise we have to create at least 2 photographs, one of these images should convey rhythm and the other should be conveying pattern.
I started by looking at patterns and it came to me that patterns are very much everywhere, as patterns are very much a static image.
When making a pattern image whether it be a regular pattern or an irregular one it is best that the framing of the image is kept as tight as possible so as not to lose the pattern you are showing.
A rhythm image tends to have a flow across the image as if to music so you look across the image and a pattern makes you look at each point in the image.

So this is a pattern image I have taken using the image from the book as a guide they used images of holy images where as I have gone for more of the Lego. I then took another image of a flower displaying a lovely pattern.

This image displaying a slightly irregular pattern so again frame is kept tight to keep the interest in to the image.

With this image I went for a rhythm image but going into the image and not across it so the beat flow from the light areas.

Leave a comment